Parliament passed Bangladesh Atomic Energy Commission Bill


Parliament on Wednesday passed the ‘Bangladesh Atomic Energy Commission Bill, 2017’ to update the version of the ‘Bangladesh Atomic Commission Order, 1973’ in Bangla. According to the new law, the Commission will be constituted with maximum four members, including a chairman having a science and technology background.

Science and Technology Minister Architect Yafesh Osman moved the bill and it was passed by voice vote.

Bangladesh Atomic Energy Commission (BAEC) will be headquartered in Dhaka while its branch can be opened any place of the country with prior government permission. The Commission will work for the peaceful use of atomic power in the areas of food, agriculture, health, medicare, environment and industries.

It will also work for development of electronic machinery, design, technologies and useful appliance, and conduct educational programmes and service, implement nuclear projects and carry out research and development activities.

Bangladesh Atomic Energy Commission (BAEC) was established in 1973 as a multidisciplinary R&D organization with the view of promoting peaceful uses of nuclear energy in Bangladesh. From the very beginning of its formation, BAEC started R&D works in areas covering physical science, bioscience, engineering and nuclear medicine for human welfare and economic uplift of the country.

At present, the BAEC has grown as the largest organization for scientific and technological research in Bangladesh. BAEC has also been entrusted with the responsibility of establishing the country’s first Rooppur Nuclear Power Plant in order to make substantial contribution to the eve-increasing demand for electricity as well as to ensure energy security for the future generation. It is also committed to establish nuclear safety culture as per international conventions and rules.